Weekly Magazine Wrap up!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

will be back next week. Studies have me by the scruff of the neck at the moment, and many of the magazines had already updated their covers for this week  before I had a chance to grab them!  Those above were the ones I was able to grab. For the most part the magazines I was able to grab weren’t to shabby last week, though I did miss  a few, sadly. NW earned a C asserting a Big Brother contestant revealing she wants liposuction. I don’t want to ridicule her choices, but I do question the magazines choice of that tagline over a picture of her in a bikini.The notable exception was Famous magazine who earned a solid E with their body shaming of Female Celebrities – asserting that their current bodies are too flabby, and they are ashamed of their so called weight wars. There is nothing wrong with their current bodies -in fact they are still smaller than the Average Australian who is a size 16, so this is really quite harmful. all others received As. A few notable things in the publishing world, however –

RMIT student Jess Barlow has started The Brainwash Project which has petitioned Cleo and Cosmopolitan to cut down on photoshopping. Initially I was excited by the project, as it seemed she was also challenging harmful taglines on the covers, however she seems to have chosen to focus on images. Still, its a start, so I urge you to support her work – and I wonder if it was inspired in part by the petitions to Seventeen and Teen Vogue  in the US earlier this year. Cleo  seems to be responding to the campaign. I have followed the project on facebook, so will continue to watch the progress as I do with everything that corresponds to my work in some way!

Girlfriends self esteem campaign continues. Watching this evolve over the last few months has been SUCH a joy! Have you submitted your compliment to the website yet? I did!

Seventeen magazine completely forgot their body pledge with their back to school cover. I’m so proud of them (sarcasm). The cover focuses on looking pretty, having an awesome body, and – of course – amazing clothes. While it also advertises mega confidence – it clearly equates pretty, great body, amazing clothes, shiny hair, and perfect skin WITH confidence. Come on guys…

Helen Gurley Brown – former editor of US Cosmo passed away, and many have questioned her contribution to women’s magazines and feminism, questioning whether she simply re-enforced the beauty myth, or really helped empower women.

Things I Learned From Cosmo is one of the most amazing tumblrs ever (after FemiNeato!

Featured Image – did you know I create my own magazine covers? I do! all taglines are taken from actual magazines – vogues, cosmos, marie claires, harpers, cleos, womens health, nylon, russh, you name it! the illustrations are all editorial and cover inspired from various world covers – this Jessica Stam from Vogue Turkey. They aim to draw attention to the harmful pervasive language we find on magazine covers – which are accessible to everyone. I have named my covers coquette – which means a woman who endeavours without sincere affection to gain the attention and admiration of men. Shameless self promotion!

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Magazine Wrap up!

  1. I’m more than happy to find this page. I want to to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to see new things in your blog.

Leave a Reply

